top of page

Posters of equestrian shows at the end of the 18th c.
Philip Astley, Charles Hughes and Sieur Hyam

Posters for shows are rare because they are by definition ephemeral productions. In the 18th century, advertising placards were engravings printed in a limited number of copies, before the invention of  lithography in 1796 made it possible to lower production costs and multiply extensively the production. "Placarded", glued, on the walls posters disappear, replaced by the following ones. Therefore finding ancient posters, moreover in good condition, is a chance, especially when they echo each other...  

 

The three posters for the horse shows of Philip Astley and Charles Hughes in London and that of Sieur Hyam in Paris all date from the 1770s. Astley's is dated 1776. That of Hughes, regarding the similarity of the program is presumably from the same year. That of Sieur Hyam, dates from 1774 when he temporarily moved to the Jardin des Porcherons (also known as La Folie Boutin or Grand Tivoli), in the current 9th arrondissement in Paris, where Ruggieri presented his fireworks tricks before the Revolution.

Studying these three posters lets us get a grasp of the details of the programming of the first show riders. As one can see, these posters were indeed program posters where the text fills the page much more then images describing precisely the content of the spectacle. The header thumbnails represent one or several typical exercises. Note, in particular, that Astley and Hughes' both represent the performance of the rider balanced on the head, firing a pistol with his mount at a gallop...and that these vignettes are the same one can find in their books.

Not only these posters show us the use of printing aterial, the means ofimitating - not to say copying - competitors and postures as well as costumes show us typical military exercices which were the main component of the firts equestrian shows.

On the competition and race for imitation between Astley and Hughes see Du Théâtre équestre au Cirque , p. 54 and sq.

Astley's_Riding_School_Billboard_1776_©B
Hughes'_Riding_School_Blackfriars_c._177
Sieur_Hyam_Affiche_spectacle_équestre_17
Sieur_Hyam_Affiche_spectacle_équestre_17
bottom of page

Affiches de spectacles équestres fin XVIIIe siècle

Philip Astley, Charles Hughes et le Sieur Hyam

Les affiches de spectacles sont rares du fait que ce sont par définition des productions éphémères à vocation ponctuelle. Au XVIIIe siècle, les placards publicitaires sont des gravures tirées à un nombre limité d'exemplaires, avant que l'invention de la lithographie en 1796 permettent de baisser les coûts de production. "Placardées", collées, sur les murs elles disparaissent, remplacées par les suivantes. Aussi, en trouver, qui plus est en bon état de conservation, est donc une chance, surtout quand elles se font écho... 

 

Les trois affiches des spectacles équestres de Philip Astley et Charles Hughes à Londres ainsi que celle du Sieur Hyam à Paris datent toutes trois des années 1770. Celle d'Astley est datée de 1776. Celle de Hughes, au regard de la similitude du programme est vraisemblablement de la même année. Celle du Sieur Hyam, date de 1774 lorsqu'il s'installe temporairement aux Jardin des Porcherons (dit aussi La Folie Boutin ou Grand Tivoli), dans le 9e arrondissement actuel, où Ruggieri présentait ses feux d'artifices avant la Révolution.

Considérer ces trois affiches permet de saisir le détail des programmations des premiers écuyers de spectacles car, à l'époque, les affiches sont en effet des affiches-programmes où le texte domine pour décrire en détail le contenu du spectacle. Les vignettes d'en-tête représentent un ou plusieurs exercices types. A noter, notamment, qu'Astley et HUghes représentent tous deux la performance du cavalier en équilibre sur la tête, tirant au pistolet avec sa monture au galop...

Au sujet de la concurrence et de la course à l'imitation entre Astley et Hughes voir Du Théâtre équestre au Cirque, p. 54 et sq.

Astley's_Riding_School_Billboard_1776_©B
Sieur_Hyam_Affiche_spectacle_équestre_17
Hughes'_Riding_School_Blackfriars_c._177
Sieur_Hyam_Affiche_spectacle_équestre_17

© Caroline Hodak, 2018

Tous les éléments texte peuvent être utilisés... merci de citer la source !

Thanks for acknowledging !

  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Gris Twitter Icon
  • Gris Icône Instagram
  • Gris Pinterest Icône