top of page

Franconi horses

Which horses made up the Franconi cavalry?  Two censuses nearly twenty years apart, in 1793 and 1816, make it possible to have a look. Composed of 16 horses in 1793, then 26 horses, the cavalry had more than forty horses in the 1830s while that of the Hippodrome reached more than 200 horses in the 1850s.

 

In 1793, the typical horse in the Franconi stable was bay, 6½ years old, 4 feet 9 inches tall, and short-tailed. In 1816, the average horse, aged 9½, was bay or chestnut, with a short tail and a value of 254 francs (this average is however relative given the difference between the extremes, 1500 francs for the most expensive, 30 francs for the least expensive). However, the value of each animal needs also to be considered an estimate to date and not the purchase price.

The purpose of the 1793 census was to count all the horses that could be requisitioned for the army. In the cavalry, "the hussars, the chasseurs, the dragoons, the legions are mounted on horses of medium height" that is to say between "4 feet 8 inches (1.51 m) and 4 feet 11 inches ( 1.59 m)", specific to horses "resistant, capable of carrying the weight of the rider and his pack for a long time (…), insensitive to the sound of firearms, undemanding in terms of food". Almost all of Antonio Franconi's horses fit this description. Luckily, they were not requisitioned.

 

Blomac (N. de), Glory and the game: of men and horses 1766-1866 , Paris, Fayard,  1991, p. 104 and by the same author, "The war horse between saying and doing. Some variations on equestrian discourse adapted to military reality", in Roche (D.) dir., Le Cheval et la guerre du XVe au XXe siècle , Paris, Association for the Academy of Equestrian Art of Versailles, 2002, p.57-61

Chevaux Antoine Franconi 1793
Chevaux des Frères Franconi 1816

Definitions

Age and out of age : the age of five marks the entry into service of the horse until then still considered a foal. This explains why Franconi's horses are at least five years old. Hors d'âge refers to horses over ten years old. The age is counted according to the dentition and is one of the three characteristics which make it possible to identify the horse

Horse's coat: refers to the color of the animal's coat. The coat designation is one of three characteristics that identify the horse with size and age.

Chestnut : shade of the coat tending towards brown and whose hair is also brown

Bay : shade of the dress pulling towards brown and whose horsehair and ends are black

Grey : shade of the coat which consists of a mixture of black and white hairs

Balzane : white mark, more or less important at the bottom of a member of the horse

Muzzle : part of the horse's head which is located between the eyes and the nostrils and which can be white

Header : white mark on the forehead (part of the head between the forelock and the horse's eyes) 

Pelota header : white hairs on the forehead

All hair and long hair : these expressions indicate the care given to the horse's mane and tail. A long hair indicates that the mane and tail are combed which gives a neat and silky appearance generally specific to presentation horses. 

Winded : horse that has breathing difficulties (lung problems)

Taré : said of a horse suffering from a tare, more or less serious condition, curable or incurable; the defects are ranked according to a precise typology in order to be able to judge the value of the horse.

bottom of page

Les chevaux des Franconi

Quels chevaux constituaient la cavalerie des Franconi ? Deux recensements à près de vingt ans d'écart, en 1793 et 1816, permettent d'en rendre compte. Composée de 16 puis 26 chevaux, la cavalerie compte plus d'une quarantaine de chevaux dans les année 1830 tandis que celle de l'Hippodrome atteint plus 200 chevaux dans les années 1850.

 

En 1793, le cheval type de l’écurie Franconi a une robe bai, est âgé de 6 ans et demi, mesure 4 pieds 9 pouces et est à courte queue. En 1816, le cheval moyen, a 9 ans et demi, est bai ou alezan, à courte queue et d’une valeur de 254 francs (cette moyenne est toutefois relative étant donné l'écart entre les extrêmes, 1500 francs pour le cheval le plus cher, 30 francs pour le moins onéreux). La valeur de chaque animal est cependant à relativiser, car il s'agit là de l'estimation à date et non du prix d'achat.

Le recensement de 1793 a pour objet de dénombrer tous les chevaux réquisitionnables pour l'armée. Dans la cavalerie, "les hussard, les chasseurs, les dragons, les légions sont montés sur des chevaux de taille moyenne" c’est-à-dire entre "4 pieds 8 pouces (1,51 m) et 4 pieds 11 pouces (1,59 m)", propre des chevaux "résistants, capables de porter longtemps le poids du cavalier et de son paquetage (…), insensibles au bruit des armes à feu, peu exigeants en matière de nourriture". Les chevaux d'Antonio Franconi correspondent presque tous à cette description. Néanmoins ils n'ont pas été réquisitionnés.

 

Blomac (N. de), La Gloire et le jeu: des hommes et des chevaux 1766-1866, Paris, Fayard,  1991, p. 104 et du même auteur, "Le cheval de guerre entre le dire et le faire. Quelques variations sur le discours équestre adapté à la réalité militaire", in Roche (D.) dir., Le Cheval et la guerre du XVe au XXe siècle, Paris, Association pour l'Académie d'Art équestre de Versailles, 2002, p.57-61

Définitions

Age et hors d’âge : l’âge de cinq ans marque la mise en service du cheval jusque là encore considéré poulain. Ceci explique que les chevaux des Franconi aient au minimum cinq ans. Hors d’âge désigne les chevaux de plus de dix ans. L’âge se compte en fonction de la dentition et est l’une des trois caractéristiques qui permettent d’identifier le cheval

La robe du cheval désigne la couleur du pelage de l’animal. La désignation de la robe est l’une des trois caractéristiques qui permettent d’identifier le cheval avec la taille et l’âge.

Alezan : nuance de la robe tirant vers le marron et dont les crins sont également marrons

Bai : nuance de la robe tirant vers le marron et dont les crins et les extrémités sont noirs

Gris : nuance de la robe qui consiste en un mélange de poils noirs et blancs

Balzane : marque blanche, plus ou moins importante en bas d’un membre du cheval

Chanfrein : partie de la tête du cheval qui se situe entre les yeux et les naseaux et qui peut être blanche

En-tête : marque blanche sur le front (partie de la tête entre le toupet et les yeux du cheval) 

Pelotte en-tête : poils blancs sur le front

A tous crins et à longs crins : ces expressions indiquent les soins donnés à la crinière et à la queue du cheval. A longs crins indique que la crinière et la queue sont peignés ce qui confère un aspect soigné et soyeux généralement propre aux chevaux de présentation. 

Poussif : cheval qui a des difficultés respiratoires (problèmes pulmonaires)

Taré : se dit d’un cheval souffrant d’une tare, affection plus ou moins grave, guérissable ou incurable ; les tares sont hiérarchisées selon une typologie précise afin de pouvoir juger de la valeur du cheval.

© Caroline Hodak, 2018

Tous les éléments texte peuvent être utilisés... merci de citer la source !

Thanks for acknowledging !

  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Gris Twitter Icon
  • Gris Icône Instagram
  • Gris Pinterest Icône