top of page

The Franconi Dynasty

Excellent riders, first theater directors to institute and hold the privilege of equestrian exercises in France, the Franconi ensure their supremacy over the genre for more than a century and across four generations.

 

The number of years of "family business" are small compared to the longevity of the dynasty. It was not necessary for their name to be attached to their establisment: during the first half of the 19th century,  the Cirque Olympique was de facto associated with the Franconi and whether riding in the circle or not, their notoriety was such, they were - and stil are - the reference of the genre in France. It is not being propritor of an establishment that makes the Franconi the founding circus dynasty of the circus in France. It is their ability to obtain the privilege of the equestrian genre, to create and renew the canons of the aforesaid genre, as well as to integrate cultural innovations around the horse which place them at the top of the proponents of equestrian shows and entertainment in France.

 

No establishment bears the name of Franconi after 1807 and their shows, like the places they build are not transmitted from generation to generation. Antonio Franconi did not bequeath a theatre  to his sons, while Laurent and Henri, if they placed their son and nephew, Adolphe, at the head of the Cirque Olympique in 1826 to keep the privilege of exploitation within the family, saw the title escape them a few years later, taken over by Louis Dejean. Later, when Charles took over from his father, Victor, as director of the Cirque d'Hiver in 1897, this establishment  did not bear their name either, simply because it did not belong to them. In short, financial setbacks, such as the desire or the need to offer new forms of entertainment do not make any of them the formal heir of the previous Franconis.

 

There is no "one" Franconi type of show, nor is there a style that is unique to them. It is therefore no patrimonial heritage that weaves the dynasty of show riders, but the transmission of a profession in all of its facets, where each one develops recognized qualities with his share of personal distinction adorned with a common seal: the mere mention of their name imposes a signature, both a guarantee of know-how and a marker of reputation. With the name as a passport, each one has taken on its own challenges, proposed new forms or imposed himself through his own specificities, perpetuating the presence of the dynasty without having the weight of safeguarding an heritage since each generation worked to create its own space in the world of circus and equestrian shows.

A name that stands out

The name Franconi is therefore that of a dynasty of multi-faceted show equestrians. Their fame is both professional and personal: Laurent was famous as one of the best écuyers of his time, like his son Victor, author of two treatises on riding, or his grandson Charles who directs the Cirque d'Hiver, reputed to be an excellent horseman but who is no less renowned for... his dexterity with the sword. Henri is famous for his pantomimes which he writes mainly for the Cirque Olympique, but not exclusively, and because he is an excellent vaulter on horseback.

 

However, their notoriety is not based solely on their horsemanship.  As soon as there is some new equestrian show business arising, their name is closely or distantly associated with it, either as stakeholders or as a reference for their competitors. The Franconis were the first to exploit the manna imported by Astley and, from there, they relegated their competitors: Benoît Guerre, Bastien Gillet, Henri Lagoutte, as well as the families of horsemen such as Loisset, Lalanne, Lejars, Loyal, Cuzent, Bouthors were admired in their time but only really marked the Parisian annals because they "passed" through the ring and the stage of the Cirque Olympique, then of the Cirque d'Eté,  the Cirque d'Hiver or of the hippodromes, before, for some, establishing a local fame in the provinces or abroad. But the ones standing above all, were the Franconis.

 

It is therefore the institutions created by the Franconis and the fact that they were the first to obtain the privilege of exploiting the equestrian genre that placed them at the forefront of the profession of écuyers de spectacles and circus directors in 19th century France. The fact that from father to son, they taught riding to royal and imperial families, to the armies, to numerous personalities, as well as to the great names of equestrianism that they frequented or with whom they associated,  constituted the key to enter the circles of the most prominent and renowned equestrians among their contemporaries. If Antonio Franconi dug his furrow in the world of animal shows before becoming a good horseman, his grandson Victor took up the pen to write treatises that were highly regarded in the horse community, while Charles had is entry in the Bottin Mondain. The horse carried the success of their businesses, anchored their equestrian expertise and lined the path of their respectability and notability along with the symbols of their distinction.   

The Franconi dynasty is indeed a line of horsemen and circus directors, but it is not limited to men. Catherine Cousi, Laurent's wife, and Jeanne Lequien, Henri's wife, were themselves horsewomen and took part in the shows, among the first women acrobats on horseback in the footsteps of Mrs Astley. Elisa Franconi and Laurence Franconi, Henri's daughters, were reputed to be excellent horsewomen and appeared in the shows. It is also through them, through their alliances, that the Franconi family imposes itself as a dynasty and that the marriages illustrate the structuring of an entre-soi where the horse is the bound, even more so than the theater. 

 

Elisa married François Sergent, who wrote the music for the circus pantomimes. Laurence married François Laribeau (known as Paul Laribeau), also a famous horseman. Adrienne also appears as an equestrian and marries Sébastien Gillet, a famous equestrian. Euphrasie seems to be the only one of Henri Franconi's elders not to ride. However, she married Henri Villemot, a playwright, who wrote many plays for the circus. If Lionel made a military career in the army of Napoleon III as a rider and his brother Narcisse became a military doctor, all the children of Henri's first marriage and their husbands or wives - except Alfred whose occupation escapes us - are linked to the family business or have developed their career in connection with horseback riding or animals (Lionel and Narcisse).

The inheritance of the goods, even if Laurent and Henri are associates, passes nevertheless through the elders. Victor, Laurent's son, was only 15 years old in 1826, when the Cirque Olympique burned down. He was too young to replace his father and uncle who chose Adolphe, Henri's son, who was 24 years old and whom they would supervise. Adolphe went on to manage various establishments in partnership, but Victor seemed more enterprising. After traveling extensively in Europe, notably with the troupe of Sophie Kennebel, mother of his wife Virginie, a famous horsewoman, he became artistic director of the Cirque d'Eté and ventured into the creation of "hippodromes de spectacles" in Paris and New York before returning to head the Cirque d'Eté and Cirque d'Hiver in 1870.

Adolphe died in 1855, six years after his father and uncle. Victor died in 1897. He himself lived through the century and left his mark on the equestrian shows of the second half of the 19th century. He directed the two Parisian circuses for twenty-seven years, until his death, and his son Charles took over until his own death in 1907. Since Charles had no children and his sisters were not involved in horseback riding or the circus, and Henri's heirs were no longer included in the inheritance of the estate, the dynastic transmission of knowledge ended with Charles' death, as the Franconi name was no longer associated with the management of the Parisian circuses or riding in the circle.

Dynastie des Franconi (c) CHodak.jpg
Antonio Franconi Henri Laurent Virginie Kennebel Victor Franconi Emilie Lequiem Catherine Cousy Adolphe Franconi

Also about the Franconi...

Laurent and Henri Franconi, écuyers
The Franconis 
on the stage
of the Opera
The Franconi Tours
bottom of page

La Dynastie des Franconi

Excellents écuyers, premiers directeurs de théâtre à instituer et détenir le privilège des exercices équestres en France, les Franconi assurent leur suprématie sur le genre durant plus d'un siècle et quatre générations.

 

Le nombre d'années "d'entreprise familiale" sont faibles au regard de la longévité de la dynastie. Il ne leur est pas nécessaire de diriger un établissement éponyme pour que, durant la première moitié du XIXe siècle, le Cirque Olympique soit de facto associé aux Franconi et pour que leur notoriété, qu'ils soient présents en piste ou non, constitue la référence du genre en France. Ce n'est pas un établissement qui fait des Franconi la dynastie circassienne fondatrice du cirque en France mais leur faculté à se faire reconnaître détenteur du privilège, à créer et renouveler les canons du genre, comme à intégrer les innovations culturelles autour du cheval qui les placent en tête des tenants des spectacles équestres en France.

 

Aucun établissement porte le nom de Franconi après 1807 et leurs spectacles, comme les lieux qu'ils constuisent ne sont pas transmis de génération en génération. Antonio Franoni ne lègue pas de théâtre à ses fils, tandis que Laurent et Henri, s'ils placent leur fils et neveu, Adolphe, à la tête du Cirque Olympique en 1826 pour garder au sein de la famille le privilège d'exploitation, voient le titre leur échapper en quelques années et repris par Louis Dejean. Plus tard, quand Charles prend la suite de son père, Victor, à la direction du Cirque d'Hiver en 1897, cet établissement ne porte pas leur nom, car il ne leur appartient pas. En somme, les revers financiers, comme l'envie ou la nécessité de proposer de nouvelles formes de spectacles ne fait d'aucun l'héritier formel des précédents.

 

Il n'y a pas "un" spectacle Franconi, ni un style qui leur soit propre. Ce n'est donc pas un héritage patrimonialiste qui tisse la dynastie d'écuyers de spectacle, mais la transmission d'une profession où chacun développe des qualités reconnues avec sa part de distinction personnelle ornée d'un sceau commun : la seule évocation de leur nom impose une signature, à la fois gage de savoir-faire et marqueur de réputation. Avec le nom comme passeport chacun s'est lancé ses propres défis, a proposé de nouvelles formes ou s'est imposé par ses spécificités, pérénisant la présence de la dynastier sans avoir le poids de sauvegarder les meubles puisqu'à chaque génération chacun s'emploie à créer sa propre place dans l'univers du cirque et des spectacles équestres.

Un nom à part

Le nom Franconi est donc celui d'une dynastie d'écuyers de spectacles aux multiples facettes. Leur renommée est à la fois professionnelle et personnelle: Laurent était reconnu comme l'un des meilleurs écuyers de son temps, comme son fils Victor, auteur de deux traités d'équitation, ou son petit-fils Charles qui dirige le Cirque d'Hiver, réputé excellent cavalier mais qui est non moins renommé pour... sa dextérité à l'épée. Henri lui est célèbre pour ses pantomimes qu'il écrit principalement pour le Cirque Olympique, mais pas exclusivement, et parce qu'il est excellent voltigeur à cheval.

 

Néanmoins leur notoriété ne repose pas uniquement sur leurs qualités à cheval. Dès qu'il est question d'une nouvelle entreprise de spectacles équestres, leur nom y est associé de prêt ou de loin, soit en tant que parties prenantes, soit en tant que référence pour leurs concurrents. Les Franconi étaient les premiers à exploiter, en l'homologuant, la manne importée par Astley et, de là, ils ont relégué leurs concurrents : Benoît Guerre, Bastien Gillet, Henri Lagoutte, ainsi que les familles d'écuyers que sont les Loisset, Lalanne, Lejars, Loyal, Cuzent, Bouthors étaient admirés en leur temps mais n'ont véritablement marqué les annales parisiennes que parce qu'ils sont "passés" par la piste et la scène du Cirque Olympique, puis du Cirque d'Eté, du Cirque d'Hiver ou encore des hippodromes avant, pour certains, d'établir une renommée locale en province ou à l'étranger. 

 

Ce sont donc les institutions créées par les Franconi et le fait qu'ils aient les premiers obtenus le privilège d'exploitation du genre équestre qui les placent en chef de file de la profession des écuyers de spectacles et des directeurs de cirque au XIXe siècle en France. Le fait également que de père en fils, ils aient enseigné l'équitation aux familles royales et impériales, aux armées, à de nombreuses personnalités, comme les grands noms de l'équitation qu'ils fréquentent ou auxquels ils s'associent, l'ensemble constituant la clef d'entrée pour accéder aux cercles des écuyers reconnus et renommés auprès de leurs contemporains. Si Antonio Franconi a creusé son sillon dans l'univers des spectacles d'animaux avant de devenir bon cavalier, son petit fils Victor prend la plume pour rédiger des traités qui ont connu un succès d'estime dans le monde du cheval tandis que Charles figure dans le Bottin Mondain. Le cheval a porté le succès de leurs entreprises, a ancré leur expertise équestre et a bordé le chemin de leur notabilité et des symboles de leur distinction.

La dynastie des Franconi est belle et bien une lignée d'écuyers et de directeurs de cirques, mais elle ne saurait se limiter aux hommes. Catherine Cousi, femme de Laurent et Jeanne Lequien, femme de Henri sont elles-mêmes écuyères et prennent part aux spectacle, premières voltigeuses à cheval dans les pas de Mrs Astley. Elisa Franconi et Laurence Franconi, les filles de Henri sont réputées excellentes écuyères et paraissent dans les spectacles. C'est aussi par elles, par leurs alliances, que la famille Franconi s'impose comme une dynastie et que les mariages illustrent la structuration d'un entre-soi où le cheval est le lien, plus encore que le théâtre. 

Elisa épouse François Sergent, qui écrit les musique des pantomimes du cirque et Laurence épouse François Laribeau (dit Paul Laribeau), également célèbre écuyer. Adrienne figure également en tant qu'écuyère et elle épouse Sébastien Gillet, écuyer. Euphrasie semble être la seule des aînés d'Henri Franconi à ne pas monter. Elle épouse cependant Henri Villemot, auteur dramatique, qui écrit de nombreuses pièces pour le cirque. Si Lionel fait une carrière militaire dans l'armée de Napoléon III en tant que cavalier et que son frère Narcisse devient médecin militaire, tous les enfants du premier mariage d'Henri et leurs époux ou épouses - hormis Alfred dont l'occupation nous échappe - sont liés à l'entreprise familiale où ont développé leur carrière en lien avec l'équitation ou les animaux (Lionel et Narcisse).

L'héritage des biens, mêmes si Laurent et Henri sont associés, passe néanmoins par les aînés. Victor, le fils de Laurent n'a que 15 ans en 1826, lors de l'incendie du Cirque Olympique. Il est trop jeune pour remplacer son père et son oncle qui choisissent Adolphe, le fils d'Henri, qui a 24 ans et qu'ils vont superviser. Adolphe reprend différentes directions d'établissements par la suite, en association, mais Victor semble plus entreprenant. Après avoir beaucoup circulé en Europe, notamment avec la troupe de Sophie Kennebel, mère de son épouse Virginie, célèbre écuyère, il est directeur artistique au Cirque d'Eté et s'aventure notamment dans la création des hippodromes à Paris mais aussi à New York avant de revenir à la tête des Cirque d'Eté et Cirque d'Hiver en 1870.

Adolphe meurt en 1855, six ans après son père et son oncle. Victor en 1897. Lui-même traverse donc le siècle et marque de son empreinte l'équitation de spectacles de toute la deuxième moitié du XIXe siècle. Il dirige les deux cirques parisiens pendant vingt-sept ans, jusqu'à sa mort, et son fils Charles reprend la suite jusqu'à ce qu'il décède en 1907. Charles n'ayant pas eu d'enfants tandis que ses soeurs ne se sont dédiées ni à l'équitation, ni au cirque - et les héritiers d'Henri n'étant plus inscrits dans l'héritage des biens - avec la mort de Charles, la transmission dynastique des savoirs s'éteint comme le nom Franconi n'est plus associé à la direction des cirques parisiens.

Aussi à propos des Franconi...

Laurent et Henri Franconi, écuyers
Les Franconi à l'Opéra
Les Franconi à l'Opéra
Les tournées des Franconi

© Caroline Hodak, 2018

Tous les éléments texte peuvent être utilisés... merci de citer la source !

Thanks for acknowledging !

  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Gris Twitter Icon
  • Gris Icône Instagram
  • Gris Pinterest Icône